Official Opening of New Quarters

Shown here at the official opening of the new quarters are left to right; Commander L.C. Main, commanding officer H.M.C.S. Chippawa; Hon. R.F. McWilliams, Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba; E.B. Frost, vice president Manitoba division of the Navy League; D.L. Campbell, Premier of Manitoba; Lt.Cdr. T.W. Baird and Mayor R. Wightman.

A picturesque ceremony was held February 11th at the opening of the new corps quarters at H.M.C.S. Chippawa by the Hon. R.F. McWilliams, lieutenant-governor of Manitoba. With the band some 250 cadets paraded under Lt. Cdr. T.W. Baird.

Signal to begin proceedings was given by a bugler sounding "UP COLORS", and after preliminary remarks by Capt. A.P. Musgrave, former director of the sea cadets, now commanding H.M.C.S. Cornwallis, the lieutenant-governor declared the new quarters open. He was not surprised, he said that so many boys joined the sea cadets. They had a great history and there was no doubt there was a great future ahead of them.

Following prayers of dedication, Hon. D.L. Campbell, premier of Manitoba, congratulated the cadets on the acquisition of such fine quarters. He was sure, he said, the quarters would fulfill a longfelt dream and be useful in their training.

Other speakers were E.B. Frost, vice-president of the Navy League, Manitoba division, Brigadier J.P. Bernatchey, R.C.A.F., Lt. Cdr. L.C. Main, officer commanding H.M.C.S. Chippawa, Mayor G. MacLean, St. Boniface and Mayor R.F. Wightman, St. James.

In June the new facilities were augmented by the addition of a boathouse. The $3,000 structure was presented to the corps by the Woman's Auxiliary of the Navy League, Manitoba division. Mrs. W.A. Cramp, president of the auxiliary made the presentation to Mr. E.B. Frost, newly appointed president of the Manitoba division.

The boathouse, which housed six sea cadet cutters, was situated on the Assiniboine River at the back of the Sir John McDonald Hostel on Mayfair Ave.

The R.C.S.C.C. John Travers Cornwell V.C. bid farewell to Lt. Cdr. T.W. Baird upon his retirement in 1949. Cdr. Baird, who first became an officer in the corps in 1928, had served as commanding officer for eight years. Few men have contributed as much to sea cadets as Cdr. Baird and he would be sorely missed by the cadets and officers.

Mr. Baird was replaced by Lt. Cdr. J. Meder. Cdr. Meder had served as an officer in the corps since 1943 and the unit looked forward to working under his leadership.

In 1949 R.C.S.C.C. John Travers Cornwell succeeded the Hamilton corps in Winnipeg the Navy League proficiency trophy. The trophy, emblematic of the best sea cadet corps in Canada, was originally donated in 1946 by a group of Winnipeg citizens.

The photographs for 1949 were made available by Mr. T.W. Baird of Grande Marais, Manitoba and Mr. J. Meder, Mr. E.B. Frost and Mr. A.E. Payne of Winnipeg.


Sea Cadet Quarters

A view of the newly opened sea cadet quarters. Shown on the lower level is a portion of the drill deck with the canteen in the. background. The upper level houses the officers' mess and offices as well as the band.

LCdr. J. Meder.
Senior Cadets 1949

The corps senior cadets pose during the Christmas Jamboree - 1949.
Officers 1949

1949 corps officers and instructors pose for photo at retirement party for Lt. Qualtrough. Left to right front row - Supt. Lillie (St. John Ambulance), Lt. A.G. Payne, Sub.Lt. W. Qualtrough, Lt. M. Gallo, Lt. T.R. Dancer. Middle row - Lt. J. Meder, Sub.Lt. D. Ligertwood, Lt. W. Rose, Sub. Lt. E. Wilson, Lt.Cdr. T.W. Baird, Lt. J. Walker, Sub.Lt. E. Rigg. Back row - Lt. G. Mathieson, Staff Officer, Lt. J. Wood, Lt. W. Wilson, Sub.Lt. R. Crossley, Sub.Lt. J. Davidson and Lt. S. Jackson.

Pages 70-72 

< Previous      Next >


© Cornwell (Winnipeg) Branch - The Navy League of Canada Site Map